More entries are expected for the written categories of the Kinabalu Shell Press Awards (KSPA) this year with journalists being able to submit a maximum of two team entries compared to only one in previous years.

It is also compulsory for entries to be submitted in digital format this year to speed up the compilation of works and judging process.

The much-awaited event for the media fraternity in Sabah and Labuan will be held on 13 November here, with the Sabah Chief Minister expected to be the Guest-of-Honour at the 23rd installation of the awards ceremony. 

The KSPA is a tripartite partnership between the Sabah State Government, Shell Malaysia and the Sabah Journalists Association aimed at recognising journalistic excellence and to further enhance the standard of journalism in the state and Labuan.

Journalists, photographers and producers from the print and electronic media in Sabah and Labuan can submit entries for the 2014 Kinabalu Shell Press Awards starting 25 May, 2015. The closing date for submission is 15 June, 2015.

Only works published in newspaper dailies or electronic media between 1 January, 2014 and 31 December, 2014 are eligible for submission. 

All entries are to be addressed to the: Secretariat, Shell Malaysia Corporate Affairs, C/o Sabah Shell Petroleum Co. Ltd., 9th Floor, Wisma San Hin, Plaza Wawasan, 88821 Kota Kinabalu (Attn: Mr Durie Rainer Fong).

Entry forms and rules and regulations can also be obtained from the Shell Malaysia website: or respective media organisations/associations in Sabah and Labuan.

For any query, please contact Durie Rainer Fong at Tel: 088-240775 or

email at