Kota Kinabalu, 18 January 2011: Submission of entries for the Kinabalu Shell Press Awards 2010 is now opened.  Entry form as well as the rules and regulations are available from the Sabah Journalists Association (SJA) and from Shell Malaysia website: www.shell.com.my

The awards which offer attractive prize money cover 9 categories which included the main Journalism Awards (features and news features) as well as sport journalism award, news reporting, best news photograph, broadcast journalism, Kadazandusun section, environment journalism, best picture, sports photography, business & economic reporting as well as entertainment Award.

Opened to full-time journalists, photographers and producers from the print and electronic media in Sabah and Federal Territory of Labuan, the closing time and date for the submission of entries is at 4pm on Feb 11, 2011.  All entries must be addressed to : The Secretariat, Shell Malaysia Corporate Affairs, C/o Sabah Shell Petroleum Co. Ltd., 9th Floor, Wisma San Hin, Plaza Wawasan, 88000 Kota Kinabalu (Attn: Ms Coralie James).  Only articles published or broadcast between Jan 1, 2010 and Dec 31, 2010 are eligible for submission.

The Awards organising committee had at its recent meeting fixed May 13, 2011 for the awards' presentation which is expected to be graced by the Chief Minister Datuk Seri Musa Haji Aman.  Aimed at recognising journalistic excellence and to further promote the standard of journalism in the state, the event is organised jointly by the State Government, SJA and Shell Malaysia.


For further editorial information, please contact Shell Malaysia Media Relations:

Datin Lucy Irene Yong at 088 292124, lucyirene.yong@shell.com or Victor Klanang at 088 292143, victor.klanang@shell.com