Effective this year, stringers from the print media can also submit their work with the introduction of two new categories called the Journalism Award for News Stringers and Best Photograph for News Stringers. News stringers can submit entries in Bahasa Malaysia, English and Chinese languages.

Scheduled to be held here on April 26 this year, the press awards will mark 21 years of partnership between the Sabah State Government, Shell Malaysia and the Sabah Journalists Association.

The Sabah Chief Minister will be the Guest-of-Honour at the prestigious event aimed, to recognise journalistic excellence and to further enhance the standard of journalism in the state and Labuan.

Only works published in newspaper dailies or electronic media between 1 January 2012 and 31 December 2012 are eligible for submission.  Entry forms as well as the rules and regulations are available from the Shell Malaysia website: http://www.shell.com.my and media organisations in Sabah and the Federal Territory of Labuan.

The press awards secretariat encouraged participants to submit their entries in PDF format to facilitate and speed up compiling works and judging process.

Each submission/entry must be accompanied by a duly completed endorsed entry form. Insufficient or not properly labeled entries may risk disqualification.

Closing date for submission is January 18, 2013 by 4 pm, and addressed to : Secretariat, Shell Malaysia Corporate Affairs, C/o Sabah Shell Petroleum Co. Ltd., 9th Floor, Wisma San Hin, Plaza Wawasan, 88821 Kota Kinabalu (Attn: Ms Coralie James).

Issued by Shell Malaysia Corporate Affairs, Sabah Shell Petroleum Co Ltd., Kota Kinabalu, Sabah. For any query, please contact Durie Rainer Fong at Tel: 088-292163 or 016-847 4337.